Some like it hot (and humid)

Caught a train down to Philadelphia – the gentle sway almost put me to sleep. I’d like to take a longer journey across the States by train, hopping off and on, it would be an interesting way to travel long-distances. The Philly central station is quite gorgeous, built at a time when it was the premium way to travel.

Made it to my cute little loft apartment not long after midday so I had half a day left to explore. Can’t let any time waste when on holiday. I found a place through AirBnB not far from Rittenhouse Square so I can walk just about everywhere. This part of town has a very European feel to it.

From City Hall I walked from JFK Plaza along the Benjamin Franklin Parkway and up to the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

This was a cardboard mock-up that the city residents were asked to help build. It was fun watching people contribute.

Just off to one side, before you walk (or run) up the stairs to the Museum, there is statue that most people queue to get a photo with. Yes, Rocky! Not one of my highlights but I still grabbed a snap from a distance and then walked sedately to the top of the stairs and watched while many people jogged up to the top and then did the victory fist pumps. Ha! All part of the experience.

The Schuylkill River runs to the east of the Museum and I took a walk down to see the Boathouse Row.

Let me tell you, I hadn’t chosen the best shoes to walk the distance I had this day. Definitely need a foot massage before long.

Leave a comment